top of page

Roxanne’s Waste 100

This week we’ve got something a little different for you! One of our youngest members, Roxanne, has come up with a fantastic project that she has been carrying out at home and she’s taking over the blog to tell you all about it. So, without further ado, lets hear from the lady herself..!

“Hello my name is Roxanne and I am eleven.

I decided to see how long it took me to collect 100 pieces of plastic in the house. I got a box and a counter sheet then every time we used something plastic I would put it in the box and count it.

It took me 3 weeks, so in 6 weeks around 200 pieces of plastic has been used in an average home.

I decided to do this challenge to show people how much could be going into the sea if we didn’t recycle.

8 million tons of plastic is dumped into the sea and landfill each year and by 2050 there will be more plastic in the ocean than fish unless people work together and recycle.”

It’s not just Roxanne who’s upping her commitment to climate change either; her Mum Katie has found a way to make her own household cleaner. Here’s the super simple recipe so you can try it yourself:

Bicarbonate of soda

White vinegar

That’s it!

You can mix it up in a reusable bottle and spritz away to your hearts content! No nasty chemicals, antibacterial and a bargain, (costs around £1 each for the bicarb and the vinegar, making several bottles) what’s not to like?!

Why not give it a go and start making the little changes that make a big difference to the environment!

bottom of page